Advice on clock speed.

Hi,
So I've been messing about with my BBB arduino for a few months now, and I'm working on a project.
It's more of a modification of an old project, rather than using a ProMini as most people do, I am using just an atmega on a board in an effort to shrink the physical size as much as possible.

I am still new to programming, so I need help. The code has only been used on 16mhz and 8mhz, however I am hoping that someone could modify it to run on 4mhz, or even the 1mhz internal oscillator to, even negligibly, increase efficiency.

I see the part that says "use 0x42 for 8mhz and 0x43 for 16mhz" but I'm not sure how to modify this for 4mhz or 1mhz.

and I would be using the original project thread here Build your own DSM2 transmitter module (its working!) - RC Groups but they're becoming abit difficult.

Here is the section of code dealing with timing (I believe). Sorry if this is a really noob question.

//PPM to DSM v1.1 - July 2011

typedef enum {
    NULL_ST = -1, NOT_SYNCHED, ACQUIRING, READY, FAILSAFE
} State_t;

#define PRESCALE           0x43             // if 8Mhz CPU set perscaler to 8 = 0x42, if 16Mhz CPU set prescaler to 64 = 0X43       
#define TICKS_PER_uS       1             // number of timer ticks per 1 microsecond (CPU Speed/Prescale) e.g. CPU at 8MHz/PRESCALE = 1MHz , if CPU at 16Mhz/PRESCALE = .25Mhz 
#define MAX_CHANNELS      8                 // maximum number of channels we can store, don't increase this above 8
#define MIN_IN_PULSE  (1000 * TICKS_PER_uS) // valid pulse must be at least 750us, JR 9X ~= 1050
#define MAX_IN_PULSE  (2300 * TICKS_PER_uS) // valid pulse must be less than 2250us, JR 9X ~= 2211
#define SYNC_GAP_LEN  (4400 * TICKS_PER_uS) // we assume a space at least 5000us is sync, JR 9X ~=4441
#define VALID_FRAMES     10                 // must have this many consecutive valid frames to transition to the ready state.
#define BIND_TIME        10000               // How long to run BindDSM2 8000= mCPx