Length counter

Hello all, i am new to the Arduino world. I've been assigned to a project, that has to do with length measurement. What i really want is to design something to count the length of a rope that is on a plastic reel. is there a sensor that the rope can go through a custom wheel, and then base on the wheel perimeter, count the length of the rope?
Any guidance is much appreciated

Regards,
Nicos

you could use a encoder.

as i am new to this, could you elaborate more on this please?

I remember a science programme on TV a while back, about an immediate-post-Soviet research station in Antarctica, taking ice core samples from great depth in the ice-cap.
The cable attached to sampler passed over a pulley, where a simple switch was pressed each revolution by a peg attached to the pulley.
The switch was wired across the '=' key of a cheap, off-the-shelf calculator!

Yes. This is a very nice simple project for a new Arduino user. There are many ways to detect when the custom wheel has made a rotation. The simplest would be a momentary contact switch that is activated by something protruding from the wheel. The rest is simple math. Depending on the method you choose to detect a rotation, you may have to consider contact bounce. - Scotty

AWOL:
where a simple switch was pressed each revolution by a peg attached to the pulley.
The switch was wired across the '=' key of a cheap, off-the-shelf calculator!

I thought about this, but i have a problem with this concept. Based on your example they could measure the depth. What if i want to know how much line is left until i get the ice samples when the ice sample is on its way to the surface

Well, one direction ADDS to the count, the other SUBTRACTS.
Calculators with constants can do one or the other.

If you want to know direction and rate, you need a quadrature encoder.

What if i want to know how much line is left until i get the ice samples when the ice sample is on its way to the surface