Not enough voltage to trip digital HIGH pin

Hello I'm a bit new to Arduino and electronics. I'm using an Arduino Uno to hack some telephones to use DTMF to communicate between two arduinos across phone lines (much like the cellphone controlled robots). I am using a MT8870DE DTMF tone decoder right now (though I have some MT8888's). It generates a binary code on four output pins. Everything is working fine--the chip generates binary code when I send a tone from the phone--but the arduino can't read it.

I am getting just enough power to turn on an LED but apparently not enough for the digital pin to see it.

Here are the things that I have tried:

-Having the chip send binary to LED lights
--Works--the lights turn on

-Having the chip send binary to arduino analog pin
--low reads 0-40, high reads 1020-1022 (only about 700 if the LED is plugged in)

-Send the signal to a HEX Inverter (DM74LS04)
--Works on an LED but gives the same (though opposite) values to the analog pin--and still does not trip HIGH for digital

-Send the signal to a transister (PN2222 and TIP120)
--not enough power to trip the transistor

Running out of ideas--I'm getting ready to just read this thing from analog (messy code) or do an optic coupler (just stupid)! It seems like it should be so simple!

thanks

john

The tone decoder's Gnd is connected to Arduino Gnd?

Try the Arduino's internal pullups :
pinMode(pin#,INPUT_PULLUP);

Pins Configured as INPUT_PULLUP
The Atmega chip on the Arduino has internal pull-up resistors (resistors that connect to power internally) that you can access. If you prefer to use these instead of external pull-down resistors, you can use the INPUT_PULLUP argument in pinMode().

Yea I tied the Arduino to the ground for the chip. Internal pull up resistors seem to get me a tiny bit more juice but not enough.

How have you got the device wired up to the Arduino?
Is the device 18 or 20 pin?
Is TOE pin set high?