Newbie step-labeled JPG - Looking for pointers on current flow

Hi,

I'm new to hardware and I've been working on SparkFun's getting started projects (I'm on project 3 "transitors & motors") and I've uploaded a detailed JPG "step-labeled" photo with my wires, resistors, transitors, diodes, etc all connected.

So ... plugging some wires into a breadboard and copying directions & code and having something "work" is great. But I (like some other newbies -- from what I've read on the NET) are a bit lost on how the current flows through the whole circuit and the why resistors and diodes and components are in particular places in the chain (and physically on the board) and what they're doing. Initial questions that come to mind are "could i have moved this wire to a different column, row, etc?" "In what component order does the current flow?"

Lastly, being that I've uploaded a pretty detailed JPG of my components/wires connected -- could some nice souls who understand this shed some light on anything you deem worthy of explaining related to what's happening in the diagram -- especially any pointers related to the event chain.

• Thanks, Bryan

You bring up a good point. Does anyone new to electronics fundamentals really learn anything from just following a tutorial to build a simple circuit that does something? Or have they only demonstrated that they can follow detailed step by step instructions? The ladder is a useful skill but I'm of an opinion that only by going through a good tutorial or training manual (or formal classroom instruction) on learning fundamental electronics does one gain knowledge to understand what they are constructing and how and why the various components (and their values) interact with each other. If one first learns the fundamentals of say ohms law, then building practical hands on projects make good sense as real world examples to help apply the fundamentals acquired.