Portable Acceleration Sensor for High School Physics Labs

Hi all, new to the forums and Arduino world in general. I am a physics teacher and have an idea for a sensor that would prove to be very useful if it can be done. My students have built K'Nex roller coasters and I would like them to be able to make direct acceleration measurements of the cart (sensor attached to cart) as it travels around the path so can't be connected to computer. In my head it seems feasible but haven't been able to get far. This is what I have for code:

const int groundpin = 18;             // analog input pin 4 -- ground
const int powerpin = 14;              // analog input pin 0 -- voltage
const int xpin = A1; // x-axis
const int ypin = A2; // y-axis
const int zpin = A3; // z-axis
void setup()
{Serial.begin(9600);

pinMode(groundpin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(powerpin, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(groundpin, LOW);
  digitalWrite(powerpin, HIGH);
}

void loop()
{
  int x = analogRead(xpin); //read from xpin
  int y = analogRead(ypin); //read from ypin
  int z = analogRead(zpin); //read from zpin

float zero_G = 512.0; //ADC is 0~1023 the zero g output equal to Vs/2
  //ADXL335 power supply by Vs 3.3V
  float scale = 102.3; //ADXL335330 Sensitivity is 330mv/g
  //330 * 1024/3.3/1000

Serial.print("\t");
  Serial.print(((float)x-340)/65*9.8); //print y value on serial monitor
  Serial.print("\t");
  Serial.print(((float)y-346)/68.5*9.8); //print y value on serial monitor
  Serial.print("\t");
  Serial.print(((float)z-414)/68*9.8); //print z value on serial monitor
  Serial.print("\t");
  Serial.print(millis());
  Serial.println ();
  delay(1000); //wait for 1 second while testing to slow data through the serial monitor but will be 100 
}

Some more details and problems: