DTMF detection in software

Hello!
I bought an Arduino (Uno Rev3) yesterday and decided to try it out with some nice DTMF detection (alright, I admit that I started off with blinking a stupid LED), and being as omnipotent as I am (I, as in I am one with Google) I knew straight away that the Goertzel algorithm was the way to go. After looking it up on Wikipedia, and seeing the lovely pseudo-code implementation, I started coding away. The result:

byte detect() {
  int i, j;

unsigned int x[800];

const float coeff[9] = {
    1.764203748,  // 697 Hz
    1.713499850,  // 770 Hz
    1.651160423,  // 852 Hz
    1.577286044,  // 941 Hz
    1.318773510,  // 1209 Hz
    1.179308597,  // 1336 Hz
    1.013493069,  // 1477 Hz
    .8184907739,  // 1633 Hz
    .6656390890   // 1750 Hz
  };

float s[9] = {0};
  float s_prev1[9] = {0};
  float s_prev2[9] = {0};
  float power[9];
  boolean detected[9] = {false};

for (i = 0; i < 800; i++) {
    x[i] = analogRead(audio_in);
  }

for (i = 0; i < 800; i++) {
    for (j = 0; j < 9; j++) {
      s[j] = x[i] + coeff[j] * s_prev1[j] - s_prev2[j];
      s_prev2[j] = s_prev1[j];
      s_prev1[j] = s[j];
    }
  }

for (i = 0; i < 9; i++) {
    power[i] = s_prev1[i] * s_prev1[i] + s_prev2[i] * s_prev2[i] - coeff[i] * s_prev1[i] * s_prev2[i];
    if (power[i] > threshold) {
      detected[i] = true;
    }
  }

if (detected[8]) {
    return ('T');
  } else if (detected[0] && detected[4]) {
    return ('1');
  } else if (detected[0] && detected[5]) {
    return ('2');
  } else if (detected[0] && detected[6]) {
    return ('3');
  } else if (detected[0] && detected[7]) {
    return ('A');
  } else if (detected[1] && detected[4]) {
    return ('4');
  } else if (detected[1] && detected[5]) {
    return ('5');
  } else if (detected[1] && detected[6]) {
    return ('6');
  } else if (detected[1] && detected[7]) {
    return ('B');
  } else if (detected[2] && detected[4]) {
    return ('7');
  } else if (detected[2] && detected[5]) {