RS232 Serial Tilt Sensor

I'm new to using Arduino, and I've been trying to hook up a tilt sensor that communicates in RS232. I know the Arduino Duemilanove board uses TTL, not RS232, but I have a converter.

The problem is I can't seem to actually get the data from the sensor. The sensor I'm working should return 2 sets of data as it rotates around the x and y axis. I've other sensors on the board (potentiometer, etc) for practice and have gotten them to work. However when using this tilt sensor, I get just end up with a string of zero's. Now and then, when I move the sensor quickly, i''l get a -1. :-/

My guess is that Arduino is trying to read both sets of data as a single one? I'm guessing there should be a way to tell the board to seperate them, but I haven't been able to find anything. Has anyone ever run into this kind of problem before?

You've not mentioned the device you're using, or the shown us your sketch - it is very hard to comment in cases like this.

I get just end up with a string of zero's.

How do you know?
You are supposed to put it into the serial input but that is being used to allow you to see what you are receiving through the serial monitor.
What you need to do is to use another pin and software serial to read and maybe talk to your sensor.

Hey, sorry about the missing stuff from before.

My sketch is just the sample for the Serial.read()

The sensor I am using is this:

Forget what I said earlier about the string of zeros. It was a string of 1s, and it was because I was trying to read the Rx pin as digitalRead(0). I don't think that string of 1s actually means anything because I got the same thing if the sensor wasn't hooked up at all.

Grumpy_Mike, I think I get what you are saying, that the board cannot take in some serial data if I am trying to view the serial monitor at the same time, is that correct?