What is the 555 timer I.C and why is it so famous?

I am new to electronics and I see the I.C 555 timer everywhere. What is it and why is it so famous. I found it's price to be only 15 cents in an indian store ( 6 rupees). So cheap. but so famous. Where can I find more info about it. What is it used for. What projects can I do with it?
---Thaks in advance. :slight_smile:
P.S: Please point to any youtube vids that explain I.C 555 timer.

Off topic: I'm reminded of 666 the Devil's Number. L.O.L XD

I shouldn't have to say what is so obvious but you can easily get answers to questions like this by doing a search. The English version of Wikipedia has a nice write up.

Don

Sorry about that . I took a look at wikipedia's page(Brain error 100101: Not enough rum to handle the data) . Had a lot of info.
Can you give me links to "good" youtube vids explaining the timer and a brief explanation.

Can you give me links to "good" youtube vids explaining the timer and a brief explanation.

I would have to do a search, just like you should. Just add 'youtube' to '555' when you search. You will only get 45 million hits, one of them is probably good.

Don

Yeah! But I was hoping someone who actually have seen a video would help. I have a 24 k.bps speed and it's a pain. I'm sorry about that. :~

With a slow net connection, I wouldn't be looking for videos.
Here's a tutorial (search for "555 tutorial") that I found good enough to save in my bookmarks:
http://www.kpsec.freeuk.com/555timer.htm

I have a recommendation no matter which tutorial, article, or book you use.

Always draw your 555 diagrams (or redraw the diagrams of others) with the same pins in the same location.
I always put two pins on each side of the box representing the 555.
Going clockwise from the top left they would be 8,4 on top, 3, 5 on the right, 1, 2 on the bottom, and 6, 7 on the left.

Now, when you compare all the multitude of diagrams you will find that there really are only two basic variants.