How to solder on a perfboard.

I'm completely new to soldering and I want to make a ldr circuit using a perfboard. I'm having difficulty deciding how to solder on a perf board. Should I use jumper wire or use solder trails to connect components together? Is there a tutorial or instructable on how to solder on a perf board. Can you give me tips on how to do it. Thank you very much.

Use whatever is easiest, there's no right way.

Often with long-legged components like LDRs you don't cut the the leads but bend them to the next component.

Otherwise use jumper wires.

Rob

How do I know where to place the components. Do I place them like on a bread board. Is there a program which automatically generates a picture or something on how to place the parts?

How do I know where to place the components.

Just figure it out, place components as appropriate, for example if A connects to B then it makes sense for them to be near each other unless there's an overriding reason not to.

Is there a program which automatically generates a picture or something on how to place the parts?

There may be but I will guarantee it will do a crap job, all auto-placement tools do AFAIK.

Rob

You should also think about strip board. It is similar to bread board with parallel traces. Use a dremel or knife to break-up trace lengths.

Use a dremel or knife to break-up trace lengths.

Or a 1/8th drill bit in a pin vice, I find that's the easiest.

Rob

I usually just use hookup wire. Once all my components are in, any leads are trimmed back to about a cm or so. The wires themselves (I use .15/7 PTFE insulated for almost everything low-current) are stripped back to about 4mm, tinned on each end and made into little eyelets around round-nosed pliers. I then hook this over the component lead, press down on the pad with some tweezers and reheat the solder joint. Presto!