Lawnmower project

First off I am a complete noob. I have an Arduino and made an LED blink and fade so keep that in mind.

I have a little bit of programming experience. higher level languages.

I have very little electronics experience. Can read a resistor.

I want to make a remote controlled Lawnmower / ice fishing shanty mover. I know! "What?" -- In the summer I want to push/pull my mower around and in the winter I want to push pull my ice fishing Clam Shell hut around on the ice.

Lawnmower -- I have a push mower to tear apart and use.
Motor -- I have an old three wheel scooter(older than the ones you find at stores etc.) It has a working 24 VDC motor (don't know the amps) It also has a 12VDC type of magnetic brake - I think. If I apply 12vdc to the one wire it releases the brake. If I apply 12vdc (I don't have two batteries yet for 24VDC) to the motor it moves the one wheel. The electronics on the scooter (controller) are fried or at least don't work.

The cool thing about the scooter is that the platform (seat, foot rest, front wheel, steering pole, etc.) is removable which leaves just the motor attached to a 1" square metal frame with a short 4" piece sticking out the front that goes into the front part and is secured with a pin. I think it was designed to be taken apart into two pieces to put in the trunk of a car for transport. It seems powerful enough for what I want to do.

The Idea:

1. So here is the idea that came to mind. I don't want to destroy this thing but rather hook up the Uno to it to control it (eventually from my iPad/iPhone) you know; forward, reverse, stop, speed. Then after I get motor control I want to drive it around sitting on it. Next, I want to build a 1" metal receiver to hook it to a push lawnmower. and drive that around. Lastly, I want to unhook it and hook it to my ice fishing shanty which will also have a 1" receiver as well.

A regular all around helper bot with controls I know how to use. This seems the easy part.