PWM to transistor to small DC motor - strange effect?

Hi all,

I've never really used transistors before - this is my first project where I need one as most of my stuff thus far has been very small and powered straight off the Arduino (sensors, bluetooth etc).

What I'm basically doing is this:

Arduino reads a 10K pot on Analog input 0 to get a value.

Arduino outputs on pin 9 an analogue signal to the base of the transistor.

Transistor is an NPN BC 547 type if that is relevant.

Connected to the transistor is a small 6V DC motor and then obviously it's connected to a battery - in this case 9v (because that's what I had lying around and yes I know 9v through a 6v motor will kill it - it's recycled and I'm just playing to learn at this stage before embarking on something more real).

The program essentially just reads the analogue in value and passes an analogue write to the output - the circuit and everything works but for one really odd thing I can't explain and I can't frame a search correctly on google to understand what's happening.

I was printing out the current value from the pot just so I could see what was going on when I noticed this.

As I move up the range from 0 - 1023 I increase the RPMs of the motor as you'd think using PWM. However the actual range is more like 0-250 after which if I hit 255 the engine stops dead...

If I increase the value on the input again it will wind up slowly until it hits about 500ish and then stop again and like this all the way to 1023 in really regular 250ish value cycles.

I don't understand why this would happen or why it's cyclical - I could understand that maybe at 250 I saturated the transistor so it stopped but then why does it ramp upwards again and why is it so exactly cyclical and consistent?

There's a good likelihood I've done something stupid but I'm hoping it's just some effect I don't know about or there's some other explanation?

Any thoughts would be very greatly appreciated.

Cheers
ajfisher

Hi Richard,