How to use timer interrupts.

Hey, all.

I'm new to Arduino, and electronics in general (Though I've been avidly using LEGO MindStorms for 7-years), so I'm sorry if these are very n00b questions.

Anyway, I want to drive a common-cathode 2-digit 7-segment LED display. I think it would be easiest to use interrupts to trigger the changing of the digit. i.e. do stuff for 5-milliseconds, and then turn off one digit, turn on the next, wait another five ms, turn off the second, turn the first back on, etc.

So, basically what I want to do is change the digit that is lit every 5-milliseconds, while doing other stuff in the backround. I just need to know the code that sets up the interrupt, and shows how it's used.

Thank you.

NeXT-Generation.

http://letsmakerobots.com/node/28278

Thanks, but that doesn't completely answer my question. As far as I can tell, the only timer example waits for the timer to overflow, not for a user-defined period. Also, the ISR would need to have access to a variable that tells it what numbers to display. Does it just need to be a global variable? Or does it need to have something special done to it?

Any variables the ISR changes ( and are used elsewhere ) should have the volatile modifier added.

pYro_65:
Any variables the ISR changes ( and are used elsewhere ) should have the volatile modifier added.

Like this?

volatile int NumToDisplay[2];

The value is accessed and modified normally, though, right? It just needs to be declared this way?

yes, once declared volatile you can use it normally.

NeXT-Generation:
Thanks, but that doesn't completely answer my question. As far as I can tell, the only timer example waits for the timer to overflow, not for a user-defined period. Also, the ISR would need to have access to a variable that tells it what numbers to display. Does it just need to be a global variable? Or does it need to have something special done to it?