Muscle wire, Nitinol, Flexinol, SMAs ?

Hello there,

I am new to muscle wire and getting a little confused about all the lingo out there and was hoping someone could clear some stuff up for me?

I've heard of muscle wire that contracts in length (about 2-5%) when current (generating heat) is applied to it.
I've also heard of muscle wire being trained to remember a particular shape and when heated, reverts back to that shape.
I've heard of Flexinol, Nitinol and SMAs.
So my question is...which is which?
Whats the name of the product that contracts, and which is the one that remembers its shape? or do they all do the same thing?
And whats the difference between Flexinol and Nitinol? or is this a Kleenex vs tissue thing?
I read the literature on the Dynalloy site and I am still confused.
If anyone has used any of these products and could clear this up for me I would really appreciate :slight_smile:

Also, any other advice on muscle wire would be greatly appreciated. For example, should I use High Temperature or Low Temperature?

What is your plan for an arduino with the muscle wire?

I am new to muscle wire and getting a little confused about all the lingo out there and was hoping someone could clear some stuff up for me?

I'll try to clear this up for you - note, I'll be doing research as I go - I'm not an expert in this...

I've heard of muscle wire that contracts in length (about 2-5%) when current (generating heat) is applied to it.

Yes - this is a form of SMA - Shape Memory Alloy:

Note that it is one form - depending on how the metal is originally manufactured will determine how it deforms and reforms.

I've also heard of muscle wire being trained to remember a particular shape and when heated, reverts back to that shape.

Yes - as originally manufactured; as far as I know, you can't change it (well, not easily for the homebrewer, I'd imagine) after it is manufactured.

I've heard of Flexinol, Nitinol and SMAs.
So my question is...which is which?