Time functions

I have written a sketch using digitalWrite and delay to control a sequence of events on my Arduino. I have been using it successfully for several months.The problem is that if I alter the value of the delay then all following events are then moved forwards or backwards.
I have been looking at millis, but don't quite understand how to incorporate this into my sketch. Could someone please point me in the right direction.

The millis returns the number of milliseconds.

The millis() could rollover, there is example code how to prevent problems with that.

Suppose the current time is: unsigned long startmillis = millis();
If you need to do something after 5 minutes, that time is: unsigned long somethingmillis = startmillis + (5L * 60L * 1000L);
In the loop() you could have a delay of 1 seconds, to test every second if millis() already reached the time that something has to be done.

links:
http://arduino.cc/playground/Main/LibraryList#Timing
http://arduino.cc/playground/Code/DelaySeconds
http://arduino.cc/playground/Code/MultiBlink
http://arduino.cc/playground/Code/Timer

I have a simple code which switches valves on and off. However I now want to use millis() so that I can have both events overlapping or at the same time. I have looked at the references that I was thankfully given , but I am still baffled. These references are to a flashing led on pin 13 worked by a switch. I don't see the connection. With digitalWrite it is either High or low
The abreviated sketch that I am currently using and understand is as follows

sketch_april4_valve_timings.ino (1.02 KB)

but I am still baffled.