Go Down

Topic: Stepper motors not following coded path (L298n drivers, NEMA 17hs8401 steppers) (Read 259 times) previous topic - next topic

UNDRINS_JNR

Hi, I am a second year university student, currently working on an graded assignment in which I must produce a machine that can catch six balls, sort them into two groups and drive to two different containers to drop them off. I have the ball collection and sorting system working perfectly, but the motors are not following the path that I have coded (or that I think that I have coded).

Code: [Select]
/*
 * Code to control two stepper motors simultaneously using the stepper library
*/
#include <Stepper.h>

//enter the steps per rev for your motors here
int stepsInRev = 200;
int num_of_steps = 1;

// setup pins for each driver motor1 ~ IN1, IN2, IN3, IN4; motor2 ~ IN1, IN2, IN3, IN4
Stepper myStepper1(stepsInRev, 4, 5, 6, 7);
Stepper myStepper2(stepsInRev, 8, 9, 10, 11);

void setup() {
//set speed for each stepper motor
  myStepper1.setSpeed(30);
  myStepper2.setSpeed(30);

//delay for start of course
  delay(5000);

//move Karl forward
  for (int x = 0; x < 463; x++){
      myStepper1.step(-1);
      myStepper2.step(1);
    }

//turn Karl to face right
  for(int x = 0; x < 68; x++){
      myStepper2.step(-1);
 }
    delay(500);

//move Karl forward
for(int x = 0; x < 829; x++){
    myStepper1.step(-1);
    myStepper2.step(1);
 }
    delay(500);

//move Karl to face left
for(int x = 0; x < 174; x++){
    myStepper2.step(1);
}
   delay(500);

//move Karl forward
 for(int x = 0; x < 399; x++){
    myStepper1.step(-1);
    myStepper2.step(1);
 }
    delay(500);

//move Karl to face left
for(int x = 0; x < 215; x++){
    myStepper2.step(1);
}
   delay(3000);

//move Karl forward
 for(int x = 0; x < 581;  x++){
    myStepper1.step(-1);
    myStepper2.step(1);
 }
    delay(500);

// steppers stop
  PORTD = B00000000; //sets all of the pins 0 to 7 as LOW to power off stepper1