Made My Own Arduino Board - ATMEGA32U4 - Bootloader Questions

Hey Guys,

I am an Arduino Newb, but been in electronics for quite some time. I am by experience a HW designer (ASICS, FPGA, etc.). I made my own board ..based off using the ATMEGA32U4(Leonardo was my reference). My board is up and working, but I need to get a bootloader into it. I have quite rusty on programmerMCU's, so I need some guidance.

I also have the ATMEGA2560 (own it), but I only know of Leonardo by schematic, and it seems to be different that the other mainstream boards.

With the ATMEGA2560, it has another ATMEGA CPU for the USB-programming of arduino sketches. But with the leonardo, it uses a direct USB connection. S

I got my board on the jtag (AVR JTAGICE MKII), and Ican read and write to it...and I erased the original AVR bootloader on it and put on a bootloader what I thought was a leonardo bootloader that I found online.

WHERE IS THE LEONARDO/ATMEGA32U4 BOOTLOADER FOR ARDUINO? I found a file in thje arduino directory called Caterina-Leonardo, but this hex file is 76L in size, and the flash space for the ATMEGA32U4 is only 28K, so that can't be right...is it? if so, please explain.

So if someone can please explain the bootloader stuff for this MCU..thanks in advance...

Also, so once I get the bootloader in using JTAG on AVE JTAGICE MKII, what should the arduino SW see when I plug in the USB?

please give me some guidance...

Thanks! :slight_smile:
-Peter

a .hex file is in Intel Hex format, it's ASCII, human readable, not binary. You need two ASCII characters to represent every actual byte, plus there's some overhead in the Intel Hex format to indicate address and checksums. So it's file size does not indicate the true size of memory you need.

also keep in mind, your microcontroller has 32K total, the bootloader can occupy up to 4K, thus you have 28K remaining for application. So your reasoning is wrong in your original post.