Arduino POE Ethernet (doorbell>iPhone)

Hi my first post and total newbie so please be gentle.

I've searched and can't find exactly my answer so I'm asking. I've got a Arduino Ethernet POE (powered by POE) setup in my garage Wired up to my door bell push via 6m of cat6 (unshielded). The door bell push is N/O and one wire runs back to 5v and the other to Pin7, I also have a pull down resistor between pin7 and Ground. I'm using the sketch provided by pushingbox as a go between server to get the signal out of my arduino in to prowl for notifications. the only mod I made to the sketch was to change from the standard Pin3 to Pin7.

Now I tested it before I ripped out our normal doorbell and it worked perfectly. Installed it and it still seemed to work as expected, but after a while we started to get lots of random notifications of door bell pushes at totally random times of the day (3am was a great one yesterday)

I'm assuming the arduino is picking up random noise, maybe in the long wire from the arduino to the push (it's not near any other cables anywhere in its length). I tried disconnecting the cat6 that runs off to the doorbell and left it and the randomness stopped plugged them back in and it started. I've also removed the quick push in connectors on the arduino and soldered the wires and resistor directly to the contacts to remove loose connections from the equation.

Would something like hardware/software debounce stop the random noise or am I looking in totally the wrong direction?

Any help would be appreciated

Hi Lee, and welcome to this excellent forum. :slight_smile:

My first thought would be to check the pull-down resistor. What value do you use?

Also; When you use an arduino pin as a digital input, it is possible to make use of the internal pull-up resistors in the chip.
-So when you use an external pull-down resistor, you should verify that the internal pull-up is disabled.

Here is the reference link, describing the internal pull-up resistors: