Go Down

Topic: IMU Sensor stops updating values after SD Card activated (Read 438 times) previous topic - next topic

Muulka

Hi guys,

First of all I should say that I'm very new to this whole area; this is the first project I'm doing on my own, and I don't have any kind of electronics background, so please forgive my ignorance, and if I've posted this in the wrong place please let me know...

I'm currently working on on a project to build a datalogger for a go-kart to aid in driver performance analysis, saving all the info to an onboard SD card to analyse later. The aim is that eventually it'll be something fairly extensive, but for the first stage I'm just looking at implementing accelerometer and gyro data.

To that end, I've purchased an ethernet shield and the 9 axes motion shield. I've done some playing around, and I've figured out how to get the data off the motion shield (despite the difficulty finding much documentation for it...) and, separately, how to stream data straight to the SD card.

I'm having problems occur when I try to combine the two, however. Namely, when the sketch uses the SD card, the motion sensor no longer updates, so I end up with an output file which is hundreds of identical lines no matter how I move the sensor while it's logging.

Could the problem be that the two shields use one of the pins for different tasks and they're conflicting? I haven't made any modifications or done any soldering to the boards; might there have been something I've missed in the documentation?

The code I'm using is below:
Code: [Select]

#include <SPI.h>
#include <SD.h>
#include "NAxisMotion.h"
#include <Wire.h>

const int chipSelect = 4;
const int interval = 100; // Possible to get this from something in the SD card?
// Might have to do it inside setup()?

NAxisMotion mySensor;                 //Object that for the sensor
unsigned long lastStreamTime = 0;     //To store the last streamed time stamp