Problem uploading to board

Hi all, bought the above arduino off of ebay. Complete beginner to all of this so I started with a guide which suggested the first thing AFTER installing all the drivers was to try the blinker test in the examples. Selected the one and only com port under the serial port options and for the board option I chose the 3rd option with ends "w/ ATmega 168" as my main labled chip is "ATmega168-20PU"

I clicked upload and after about 15 seconds got the error:

"Binary sketch size: 1018 bytes (of a 14336 byte maximum)
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51"

I've tried many suggestions, one being hold the reset button for a couple of seconds as I click upload and many different variations of this. I noticed the led closest to the power socket flashes 3 times after releasing the upload button, but I always recieve the above error.

I've literally only got this device today and I'm using it with the pictured stuff, arduino 0022 on Windows 7 32bit and have installed and reinstalled the FTDI drivers multiple times and they appear to be installed correctly.

If you need any more info just ask

Please help this poor noob out!

thanks

Picture didn't display for some reason

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=280673453638

Anybody? :frowning:

Even when you just click upload the led closest to the sockets flashes 3 times, I'm assuming that means its acknowledging something?
The seller responded to my question and I am using the correct board in the board options.

Occideo
I'm not positive about Windows 7 but I can suggest the following, which is applicable in 2k, XP.
Check under Device Manager (Start, Control Panel, System and Security, System, Device Manager) and see what Com Ports are assigned.
(From the eBay picture, it appears you need to have the USB lead plugged in to power it, AS WELL as the USB to RS232)