Using Arduino as an OBD-II convertor

Hello, first post, so I apologise that it's a question.

I'm currently studying for my third year Computer Science degree (in England), and have elected to create an application to create a virtual dashboard for a car on a phone/tablet. Of course this was before I found out that Microsoft has removed virtual serial devices from the WP8 SDK and from the Metro/Modern UI app SDK. This has somewhat scuppered my initial plan to simply use one of the many Bluetooth ELM327 OBD-II adapters out there, then communicate serially over Bluetooth.

What I would like to do is create a device which can take calls from the phone for information, and convert those into OBD-II commands, then pass the information back (or, better, monitor on the device, then send information directly when polled). This is to get around the lack of serial programming support limitation. For example:

Phone -> Request engine RPM -> device -> send 010C (OBD-II Engine RPM PID) -> OBD-II interface -> send RPM data -> device -> send back to phone -> Phone -> display

However, I'm not familiar with hardware design, so am not too sure where to start. Is this feasible (essentially to convert serial into some API for the phone to use over bluetooth or USB to poll the OBD data)? Unfortunately (to make it harder), as many European cars are not sold in the US, the CAN bus is not suitable, and it will have to be ISO9141 compatible, so I'm guessing the ELM327 chip would be the best option.

Any pointers (or something that'll do what I need it to do already)? I'm all ears!

Thanks in advance,
Simon

See this shield
http://www.arduinodev.com/connect-arduino-to-a-car-through-obd-ii-port/

If you are in the car, why would you want to have to call the car to get information? If you are not in the car, why would you care?

I found out that Microsoft has removed virtual serial devices from the WP8 SDK and from the Metro/Modern UI app SDK.