motor code error

I am very new to code and all that I'm trying to do is to get the thing to spin. It is hooked up to an ESC and to the Arduino. When I try to upload it, it gives me this error on the first line:

sketch_jan04f:1: error: expected constructor, destructor, or type conversion before '.' token

Here is the code:

motor.attach(9)
motor.write(0)
motor.write(10)
motor.write(20)
motor.write(30)
motor.write(35)
motor.write(40)
motor.write(45)
motor.write(50)
motor.write(60)
motor.write(70)

Here is the code:

Every;
statement;
in;
C;
ends;
with;
a;
semicolon;.

It still gives me the same error even with the semicolons.
I am almost totally clueless about code
If you have any tips or improvements or suggestions on my code (above) please post a reply

It still gives me the same error even with the semicolons.

Then we need to see all of your code, not just a snippet.

That is the whole thing.
I'm completely clueless

That is the whole thing.
I'm completely clueless

I guess.

Every Arduino sketch has a setup() function and a loop() function, and all executable code goes in one of those functions, or some other function.

HOW AND WHEN DO I USE THESE FUNCTIONS?
I tried looking it up and I only got more confused. Could you also tell me where and how to use these functions in my code?

HOW AND WHEN DO I USE THESE FUNCTIONS?

The Arduino executes main() when powered up. The main() function calls init(), setup(), and loop(), in an endless loop. You don't have to use these functions. You just have to supply them.

There are dozens of sample sketches provided with the IDE that show how setup() and loop() are structured. Running some of them would show how they are used.

Is adding slashes and stars necessary?

Along with descriptions of each code or function

Is adding slashes and stars necessary?

No, but sometimes it can be useful. It's hard to multiply without stars and hard to divide with slashes.

Along with descriptions of each code or function