About the article "10 Ways to Destroy an Arduino"

Hi All,

I'm a beginner to Arduino, and I'm very nervous whenever I connecting pins with wires. I came across an article "10 Ways to Destroy an Arduino" in the internet. I'm just wondering, are all the pitfalls mentioned in the article true? (Obviously, the author of the article has a conflict of interest.)

Best regards,
Gary

Those are all things that take components on the board past their absolute maximum ratings - some of them might take a while to do damage, and you might be lucky, but its definitely worth avoiding all them !

People for instance often short out output pins and get away with it - or end up with only slight damage (one pin doesn't drive fully high or fully low - I've got one Arduino Pro Mini like this for instance). In general exceeding the 40mA limit on pins will lead to permanent damage as the output FETs overheat.

The barrel jack is protected against reverse voltage but the Vin pin is not - hence method #4

So yes - take care, and if you can't take care (perhaps you are teaching a class!) consider a ruggedized version to reduce the accidental releases of the "magic smoke".

Well, the Uno is a pretty rugged device, based on a pretty rugged uC (Atmel atmega328p-au). All of those things in the list mentioned could cause damage, but not typically instantly. In other words, if you miswired the device but realised your mistake quickly, you may well be lucky and found you have not caused any permanent damage. It would take a some time before the shorted components would overheat and "let out the magic blue smoke", as they say.

I've accidently done lots of bone-headed things over time with these chips, and I'm amazed at how forgiving they are, overall. So, I wouldn't be too nervous (but a healthy degree of care and caution is always a good thing anyway.) These boards were primarily designed to be put into the hands of rank beginners, to build basic skills and confidence.