Go Down

Topic: LCD screen flickering while printing serial data (Read 220 times) previous topic - next topic

YasinT

hi All,

I'm new to Arduino programming and am experiencing the following issue.

Whenever my code is printing its serial data from an NTC sensor (which works fine on serial print) on a 20x4 HITACHI lcd screen, the screen flickers. I would like some insight on what could be wrong with my code.

My hardware setup works as it is (other code with static text is displayed wthout flickering and such) but I have a different setup as i don't use resistors and a potentiometer for the lcd. The setup is as followed.

Using an Arduino Mega btw

VSS - 5V
VDD - GND
VO - Analog pin 3 (I replaced the potentiometer with an analogpin and use analogWrite to give the lcd contrast
RS -  TX0 / Digital 1
RW - GND
E - analog 2
D4 - digital 4
D5 - digital 5
D6 - digital 6
D7 - digital 7

Anode - not connected
Cathode - GND (parallel with VDD)

my code is as followed

Code: [Select]
#include <LiquidCrystal.h> 
int Contrast=20;
LiquidCrystal lcd(1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7);   

int TempPin = A0; 
int Vo;                   

void setup()
  {
    analogWrite(3,Contrast);   //This code replaces the potentiometer by connecting Vo to an Analog pin
    {
    lcd.begin(20, 4);
    }
  }

void loop()
  {

Vo = analogRead(TempPin);     
   lcd.setCursor(0,0);
   lcd.print("Temp");
   lcd.print(Vo);

}

I'm uncertain if the command analogWrite(3, contrast) is causing the flicker as it is present in void loop.

I'd appreciate any help on this matter.

Nick_Pyner

Jan 10, 2018, 01:10 am Last Edit: Jan 10, 2018, 01:15 am by Nick_Pyner
The analogwrite command is in setup and cannot possibly cause flicker. It is usual to put some sort of timer control in the loop, the simplest being an appropriate delay. As things are, the main thing controlling the loop is probably the time taken to write on the display. 

The
   lcd.setCursor(0,0);
   lcd.print("Temp");