ATMega 1280 Linux Connection Problem

Hello Arduino Gods,
I am currently having problems uploading programs to my ATMega 1280 on a openSUSE Linux machine. First off I'll say I have tried multiple things to get this working so I'm going to list everything that either hasn't worked or that I am doing wrong. Also, one issue is that I need definite connection from the Mega to the computer as this Mega is for running a Reprap machine. The Mega will be getting constant info from the computer so doing the reset button dance isn't even an option. I am a Linux newb so it is possible I'm missing something staring me right in the face. Thank you in advance for any help.

1. First off, the Mega is working perfectly fine. I can very easily upload programs and send info through USB to the Mega using Windows XP and Windows 7. Truthfully I would just stick with Windows but the Gcode Interpreter I'm using for my Reprap machine is not currently being updated for Windows, so there is that.

2. On to what is happening when I try to upload to the Mega on openSUSE: In the Arduino IDE I can select the correct serial port (/dev/ttyUSB0) and am selecting the correct board (Arduino Mega (ATMega 1280). The program compiles perfectly fine. When I select to upload the first thing I notice is that the rx tx lights do not blink. Within a few seconds the Arduino IDE errors out with this error:

Binary sketch size: 14992 bytes (of a 126976 byte maximum)
/home/steven/bin/arduino-0022/hardware/tools/avrdude -C/home/steven/bin/arduino-0022/hardware/tools/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -patmega1280 -cstk500v1 -P/dev/ttyUSB0 -b115200 -D -Uflash:w:/tmp/build3442533860849584296.tmp/Tonokip_Firmware.cpp.hex:i 

avrdude: Version 5.4-arduino, compiled on Oct 22 2007 at 13:15:12
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/

System wide configuration file is "/home/steven/bin/arduino-0022/hardware/tools/avrdude.conf"
         User configuration file is "/home/steven/.avrduderc"