Go Down

Topic: Nixie tube display for prop (Read 2182 times) previous topic - next topic

rasmusbaek

Hey Everyone

Im a total beginner to all this...sorry

I work as a propdesigner, and got this really exciting job to build a sort of DIY time-machine for a show on television.
My idea is to make the panel of the time-machine(where you type in the year and date you want to travel to) using old nixie-tubes to make it look cool and old.
I need to be able to control these from a keypad or something, changing between numbers and have the display flicker(when it gets overloaded)
A bit like the delorean time machine in "back to the future". I was wondering if  an auduino the solution to this?? could someone please tell me what i need to create something like this?

Thanks a lot,
Rasmus

floresta

How about something like the Adafruit 'Ice Tube Clock'.  http://www.adafruit.com/products/194

Don

rasmusbaek

Thanks for the replies guys.

The 'Ice Tube Clock' looks really good, but i want to be ale to have full control over the digits when filming. Tims nixie display is almost exactly what i want. Does anyone know if its possible to buy something like that already made? I need it to be controlled by a keypad instead if a computer.

Rasmus

dannable

If there's money involved you might try posting a request in the 'Gigs and Collaborations' section.
Beginners guide to using the Seeedstudio SIM900 GPRS/GSM Shield

CrossRoads

There are kits like this one
http://tubehobby.com/show_det.php?det=42
schematic
http://tubehobby.com/datasheets/NCV2.0_manual.pdf

The procesor and RTC could be left off, and IO pins connected to an Uno/equivalent (promini) to drive the display drivers, programmed to read a couple of buttons and display what you want.
I am sure other kits could be modified as well.
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.