Multiple DS18B20 on a 10meter long Cat5, not discoverable.... HELP!!!!

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to this so please bear with me.
When I attach 1 or more of these sensors to an Mega, I find the addresses and get the readings...
But, (as usual), when I apply this to my real-world-project, I get absolutely nothing, zilt zilch zero!
I've summered the cable, and all wires are working, so I suspect that I'm missing something really obvious here...
I've got a Cat5 UTP-cable, somewhere in-between 5-10 meter long, sending out 5+, GND and a digital, on the other end, I put a 4K7 resistor between 5+ and the data.
The resistor is on the far end of the arduino, (does this really matter?), and to the cable on the far end, I've hooked up 2 of these sensors.

Now, when I run the sketch, supposed to scan for devices (http://arduino-info.wikispaces.com/Brick-Temperature-DS18B20), I get absolutely nothing. If I omit the cable and run everything locally, I get addresses and readings....

Once again, I've summered the cable so I know for sure that it's broken.
I've measured and it delivers 5v on the far end so I feel that I'm missing something here....

Unless it's a question about moving the resistor to the arduino-side of the cable, then I'm at total loss here.
I've even tried different sensors, (tried 5 different ones by now), and nothing seems to work...

So, please help me out here!!

Thanks in advance,
Karl

I understand Cat5 cable is the usual choice, so that should not be the problem, and 10m has been done befroe.

put a 4K7 resistor between 5+ and the data.
The resistor is on the far end of the arduino, (does this really matter?), and to the cable on the far end, I've hooked up 2 of these sensors.

I don't understand this but, if it is on the Arduiino, it should be OK. Besides, I understand everything works fine when the wiring is short. I think the resistor should be reduced to 2.2k. There has been other threads on this.