feasibility of image mapping to LED 'matrix'

I'm a total noob to Arduino, so i apologise in advance for silly questions :blush: This part of the forum seemed like the best place to start..but this is maybe more of a programming question.I've done a fair bit of searching but so far have only found small bits of the info i need.

I'm looking to construct a relatively low res LED matrix,but not in the usual sense of e.g 8x8 grid of LEDs,this would be, for a simple example 10 strings of 10 RGB(possibly RGBW),which are flexible and i can rig in a sphere shape,with control over each individual pixel.

I need to be able to have a series of images displayed on this sphere at pretty short intervals,nothing approaching 30fps but that may be nice for future development,the change from one image to the next needs to be triggered by an external control.

The images would be stored on a latop(most likely a mac) so no need for card storage on 'LED control gizmo/Arduino'..these images would be pretty low res of course, but presuming this first prototype can work i would like to scale up the number of LEDs and the res of the images.
As said the images would be low res,but it is important that the 'matrix' can display gradients i.e the LEDs are dimmable as opposed to just being on or off.At their most basic the images would be a white circular gradient on a black background.

A bit of background on me, i'm a Lighting Designer/Tech with over 10 years experience in all sorts of events,i regularly use LED fixtures controlled by DMX either with a lighting desk(e.g Avolites Pearl) or Pharos..the Pharos could do this job and is great for mapping images/video to LED fixtures,but its a bit over the top and expensive for this job and the 2 i have are in constant use.