data logging/processing

Hello,

I am collecting movement data for some animals. I have several openings where I detect the animal pass, each opening uses two IR LED/photodiodes to detect direction. Currently I can successfully count each channel, running total for each channel and the overall movement in and out of the building. At the moment I am limited to 5 channels (10 inputs) but I will be adding further channels maybe up to 30, but that's another problem for later.

My question is about capturing and showing the data in different ways. I would like to show (at the moment on the serial monitor) the data against time intervals. By that I mean showing the data as Total animals "IN" (plus on count) in the last hour, in the last 24 hours, in which hour did maximum "OUT"s occur, that sort of thing. I would like to also collect data against time and retrieve a file to plot a graph against time of "IN"s and "OUT"s but I can leave that for now.

I am very new to Arduino/coding/electronics and it has taken me a fairly long time just to write the code to count and detect direction.....fairly simple stuff for some I am sure....

I am after guidance on how this would normally be achieved, may be some code examples and if applicable pro's and cons for different ways to achieve my goals. As always, thank you for spending time in helping me.
Regards Simon

Currently I can successfully count each channel, running total for each channel and the overall movement in and out of the building.

Are you logging when the transaction occurs, too?

My question is about capturing and showing the data in different ways.

Capturing and showing it where? The Arduino does not have a lot of memory, so it will not be able to hold much data.

You could add an SD card, to increase the amount of data you can store.

Showing that data may or may not be trivial. Depends on where and when you want to show it.