Help with weird analog input problem (unstable analog reference)

Hi. First of all, this is my first post and I'm new to Arduinos and a novice at electronics, but an old hat at programming. My problem I'm having is with the electronics side of things on my Arduino UNO.

Basically, I'm building a simple project to switch a relay on or off depending on the temperature. I have a TMP36 temp sensor on A0 and a small 5v relay with a transistor and 10k resistor on D9. Independently, they work fine. Also, at this point, there is nothing on the other side of the relay (although I have tried it with something) and in fact there is nothing else in the circuit other than that listed here.

Using them together on the same project it 'works' but there's some weirdness happening. As soon as the relay is triggered at say 35 degrees, the temperature jumps up about 5 degrees. After some testing I can see voltages changing on the 5v line (even when using a 9v external supply) and this has lead me to believe that the reference voltage is changing for some reason, making my software calculation for converting the 0-1023 result of analogRead() to a voltage to be incorrect and hence throwing off the temperature result.

I have tried with analogReference(DEFAULT) and calculated for 5v, analogReference(INTERNAL) and calculated for 1.1v, and analogReference(EXTERNAL) and calculated using the result of throwing a multi-meter on the 3.3v line and hooking that into AREF. Nothing works.

Anyone know what's wrong, what's broken or (more likely) what I'm doing wrong? It seems that the more current I pull on the 5v line, the worse things get. Powering an LCD display on it with the backlight turned on drops the voltage from 4.9v down to about 4.55v. Shouldn't this be consistent? How can I make this more consistent? Or even, how can I find out what the reference voltage is and use that in my voltage calculation. I'm kind lost here.

Any help is much appreciated.