C++ Inheritance on DUE and Strange Instance Variable Behavior

Scratching my head on this one...

I'm not a C/C++ guy but I've got a good many years of professional programming experience under my belt.

There's a decent chance that my lack of C++ expertise may be the ultimate issue here...

In anycase, I'm testing out some extremely simple C++ inheritance examples and getting strange member variable behavior which I'm hoping someone here might be able to help with.

I've attached Archive.zip which includes all the files i'm running for a simple sketch named 'Sandbox'.

The simple question I have is why doesn't the serial output read '1,2,3,...' instead of '2,2,6,6,14,14,...'

//////////////////////////////////////////
Relevant code from Sandbox.ino:

#include <SuperClass.h>
#include <SubClass.h>

SubClass S;

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
S.loop();
}

/////////////////////////////////////////////////
Relevant code is from SubClass.cpp:

#include <SubClass.h>
#include <SuperClass.h>

SubClass :: SubClass() : SuperClass()
{
this->x1 = 2;
this->x2[this->x1];
this->x3 = 0;

for(int i1=0; i1x1; i1++) {
this->x2[i1] = 0;
}
}

SubClass::~ SubClass(){}

void SubClass::loop()
{
this->x3++;
this->x2[i1] += i1+this->x3;
}
delay(500);
this->f1(i1);
}
}

void SubClass::f1(int i1)
{
Serial.println(this->x3);
}

Archive.zip (3.69 KB)

Your inheritance setup is fine. However, you have a problem with your member variable x2: it is never dimensioned. I think you're attempting to dimension is with the line "this->x2[this->x1]" but that is incorrect, that is interpreted as "read x2[x1]", where x1 = 2, therefore it'll run as "read x2[2]", which will do nothing since you're not even assigning the result, so the compiler would likely optimize it away.