HOW TO BURN BOOTLOADER ON ARDUINO SERIAL BOARD.

Hey mates, i am a beginner and have just built my serial port based arduino on breadboard. Now i am finding a problem with my arduino. I have attachd db9 serial female port connecting RX & TX PINS. Connected a 2.1mm power adapter pin for input voltage. THUS, with this basic arrangement i began to connect female serial to male port of my pc and provided 4.8v input with adapter. i started off my pc and during welcome screen the green LEd glow or blinked 2 times. after this moment the led never blinked. i attached 9v,12v adapter but it didnt showed me any signs of life. I'VE used ATMega168 40pin microcontroller. Now i wish to know, 1.Does ATmega168 with 40pin work with arduino? 2.How can i burn bootloader without FTDI. 3.Is there any serial programmer? THANK YOU.

I hope there is a level translator between the DB9 and the cpu? Unmodified RS232 from the PC will probably fry the chip.

What did you do with the 9..12V adaptor? The chip can handle 6V max..

Personally I would use a FTDI usb-232ttl cable. In bitbang mode you can even program the bootloader in the chip, and levels are no issue.

Well, it seems I've already done the work of frying!
Now I'll try to move to Duemilanove. And possibly use FTDI. Way before it, I would like to ask, Can i prepare Duemilanov without SMD?
Also, can i get FTDI chip in DIP? Or else can I mount the SMD package on some smd holder? With Ftdi can i burn bootloader directly or maybe with some hack that wont require any external programmer like Avr MKII OR Etc. ?

I understand that you are a beginner - but did you even look at the DB9 serial port version of the Arduino schematic - you would've seen a few components sitting between it and the ATMega (which act as a simple buffer/level translation)?

Also - did you not review voltage levels of the ATMega for the RX/TX pins and the voltage levels of standard RS-232?