Bathymetry Measuring Apparatus

Hey all:

I am a geoscientist trying to build a device that will measure the depth of the water and correlate the measurement with a lat/long through a GPS receiver. I want the data to then be recorded on an SD card in a CSV file format- or something I can load into an excel file. I want to then put it in a GIS program and make my own bathymetry maps.

I have a transducer, a gps chip, an Arduino Uno, a sensor shield, and an SD card shield. I am at a loss as to how to connect these, but I am determined to figure it out.

Questions
-I am really curious as to if anyone has done something like this before and wouldn't mind giving a complete novice some advice?
-Can I correlate two serial inputs into a single file through the Arduino?
-I have three example programs, one for each device going into the Arduino (transducer, SD card reader, GPS). Do I need to upload these separately? Or should the program be one continuous line of code?

I'm definitely in over my head and I know this, but ima figure it out. Any advice from a knowledgeable person who has the time is appreciated.

I am really curious as to if anyone has done something like this before and wouldn't mind giving a complete novice some advice?

Cannot help you with that, not my area.

Can I correlate two serial inputs into a single file through the Arduino?

You can but to keep you from problems with software emulated serial interfaces I'd suggest you get an Arduino Mega 2560 which has 4 hardware serial ports.

I have three example programs, one for each device going into the Arduino (transducer, SD card reader, GPS). Do I need to upload these separately? Or should the program be one continuous line of code?

An Arduino can only run one program at a time. So if you wanna have the functionality of the three programs you have to integrate them into one sketch and upload that.

GeoGuy: