Options for camera gimball control using Arduino

Hello, I'm new here on this forum and got kind of intimidated about the large amount of information
that is present. I am kind of new to arduino allthough I have allready used it in my multicopters. This
is also the reason why I started this thread because:

I would like to control a gimbal for a camera ( that is possible and not that hard to accomplish)
but not using regulair servo's but stepper motors. I want to do this because I see better results
in gimbals that use steppermotors.

Is this idea possible, and is it possible to accomplish for a novice such as myself?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Yes, it is entirely possible.

You can drive a unipolar (5 of 6 wire) stepper with some simple buffers like the ULN2004. For a bipolar (4-pin) stepper motor you will need a Quad H-bridge motor control shield (2 H-bridges per stepper).

You might want to use small geared steppers because you don't need really high speed but you do need enough torque that you don't miss steps.

You might also want some kind of index sensors so that you can recover from a power failure. Without some way to sense a 'home' position you won't be able to get to an absolute position, only relative.

Hello John,

Thank you for your reply, It's good to know that it is possible, Can I use the multiwii code and board as a basic? this allready contains the code for
the stabilisation using a ITG3205 3-axis MEMS gyro and BMA180 3-axis acceleration sensor installed on this board:

This board is capable of controlling servo's as it is. as you can see in this video:

I am trying to accomplish this:

Thanks again!

Are you saying that you want to take the PITCH and ROLL servo outputs of the MultiWii flight controller and use an Arduino to translate those signals to stepper-motor controls?

Well that's the point, I dont know if that's necessary. This multiwii controller uses Arduino as well right?