LEDs

Hello everyone, I'm a complete newbie to the electronic world so I have some very basilar questions.

1. What lights a LED up? Voltage or current?

2. What does a resistor limit? Voltage or current? I mean, if I don't put a resistor in my circuit the LED bursts down: why? Too much volts or amperes?

3. What remains constant in a circuit? Voltage or current? I mean, what is the same at the start and at the end of a circuit? Volts or amperes?

4. How should I put resistors when I have more than one LED?

5. How should I put resistors when I have series or parallel circuits?

fpiro07:
Hello everyone, I'm a complete newbie to the electronic world so I have some very basilar questions.

You can't have one without the other.

fpiro07:
2) What does a resistor limit? Voltage or current? I mean, if I don't put a resistor in my circuit the LED bursts down: why? Too much volts or amperes?

Usually current.

fpiro07:
3) What remains constant in a circuit? Voltage or current? I mean, what is the same at the start and at the end of a circuit? Volts or amperes?

Amperes.

fpiro07:
4) How should I put resistors when I have more than one LED?

1. How should I put resistors when I have series or parallel circuits?

One resistor on every route to ground.

1. once the forward voltage is reached brightness is determined by the amount current flowing through. ( current)
  2. current- too many (milli)amps
  3. constant current source
  4. always in series. if you have enough voltage you can string one resistor to several series diodes though this is not always ideal.
  5. I'm not sure I understand what exactly you are asking. example or schematic, please?

I'm a complete newbie to the electronic world

..... have a look at this site for a good intro to the whole world of electronics

fpiro07:

2. What does a resistor limit? Voltage or current? I mean, if I don't put a resistor in my circuit the LED bursts down: why? Too much volts or amperes?