Read SPI data from PIC and display on SPI 5110 LCD Display - Total Newby!

Hi All,

I have an Arduino Uno which is connected to a Nokia 5110 84x48 graphic display via SPI. I want to configure it as a dumb display to display text strings from a PIC, sent to the Arduino over SPI. Only two data lines are used by the PIC, one for data and one for CLK. The data is sent on rising edge and idle clk is zero, so I think that this is SPI Mode 0. Will I need a third data line for slave select or can I hard wire this as it will always be in slave mode?

I will be receiving data strings for each line of the display from a PIC16F87, over STI. The data is in the format 8-N-1 and will comprise 14 ascii characters. Arduino will be receive only, I do not need to send any data to the PIC. What is the best / easiest way to do this? There are five lines x 14 characters per line on the display, so I will have five different strings being sent over SPI. My thoughts were to set up a loop to capture each string and store it in one of five locations, then have a longer loop that reads each string and prints it to the LCD display. What sot of header and start/stop data does the PIC need to send?

Is there a problem because both the display and the PIC are operating over SPI?

I'm a total noob at this so be gentle with me, my last programming experience was on a Sinclair ZX81 when it was a new machine :blush: I've only recently started playing with Arduino's after years of dabbling in analog electronics but I'm hooked and eager to learn and any help is most gratefully received!

Thanks!
Allan

I have an Arduino Uno which is connected to a Nokia 5110 84x48 graphic display via SPI. I want to configure it as a dumb display to display text strings from a PIC, sent to the Arduino over SPI.