Nuelectronics datalogger shield and Mega 2560?

Hi,

I've been using the nuelectronics data logger shield for several months now and slowly learning how things work. All my testing up until recently has been done with Uno's and everything has worked fine, once I understood how things work. I recently hooked one of the shields up to my Mega 2560 and started getting garbage from the ds1302 RTC on it. It just gives 2165 as year and 165 for other numbers. If I take the same shield off (I have seven of them and I have tried them all) and put it on one of my Unos it runs the same sketch just fine, so it's not a software problem and the boards themselves seem to be fine. The Mega is still able to use the SD slot and the other pins on the shield, so it seems like everything is fine there, so I cannot understand why the Mega would be a problem. Is this a problem with using the SD card on the Mega since the software SPI interface is necessary? I'm using the sd.h library that's part of Arduino and the ds1302 library that is described here: Reading RTC in nuElectronics Data Logger Shield for Arduino - ar3ne1rtc. It's part of a library using Petit FAT file library that is suggested for use by Nuelectronics, and while I no longer use the petit FAT library, I didn't see a reason to change the RTC stuff since it works fine on the Uno. I've seen there are several other libraries for use with this chip and I'm considering switching to one, but that's going to add a lot of learning and debugging which would be fine if it works, but I don't want to waste a lot of time if it just turns out that there is some bug in the shield that keeps it from working with a Mega. Even the hope that this would work would be worth switching to a new library...