How to hack an RC chinese tank??

Hi all,

it's my first post in this section of the forum so Hello world! I'm a total newbie in the electronic world but thanks to arduino i'm discovering a whole new and interesting world :slight_smile:

For my project i need to hack a chinese RC tank (1/16 scale) that uses a non standard radio gear.
Inside the tank there is a receiver and a multi function unit(MFU) that are linked by 3 wires: two of the wires are for the alimentation of the RX and the remaining wire is for sending the received commands to the MFU. This wire is what i need to hack
The radio transmitter is like a standard 4 channels + 3 extra button for special function.
Searching the net i've found that the "communication protocol" between the RX and the MFU must be something like the one i've attached to this message.
My target is to replace the stock RX with a standard one using arduino to "translate" the standard commands into the MFU language.
How can i read the original commands from the stock RX with arduino??
Once that i've readed the commands how can I replicate with arduino to the MFU??

thanks in advance for any help!!

bye

Stefano

Zm62134.pdf (14.1 KB)

Looking at the stock receiver it uses an LM358 to generate the signal that go to the MFU. This info can be helpfull?

The LM358 is often used as a buffer or amplifier. It can be used to protect the RX or it can be used to raise a voltage level up to a usable level. Without seeing the complete LM358 I would be guessing it's purpose.

Your data that is in the PDF looks very helpful. What I don't see or have not figured it out is: what is the baud rate, parity, stop bit, and start bit counts. Serial communication has parameters that must be correct for one device to understand the other.

Hi cyclegadget,

it is possible to "read" the output of the LM358 with the arduino linking the communication wire to a pin (analog pin i presume)? with which function?
thanks again

edmond_dantes:
Hi cyclegadget,