PIR sensor with timer, first time and need help

Hi..i have just bought an arduino uno yesterday and im in need of an assistance.. Im just trying to create a PIR motion light sensor, but having problems with the timer. Note, i am very very new at this.. and i am really weak with the coding. I want my sensor to detect someone walking inside, and automatically on the LED. So far, i am only able to have it on for 5 sec(since i put a delay). But i want it to only light up when there is motion, and when there is no motion for 5 secs, it will turn off. The loop goes on and on.Kind of like in a meeting room, when there's somebody in there, it lights up, and when there isn't,it goes off. I have attached my schematic down below.
P/S : i've already checked Arduino Forum , but im not really sure if it is the same. Any help is appreciated, thank you. Be nice pls XD. here is my coding so far;

int ledPin = 13;// choose the pin for the LED
int pirPin = 2;               // choose the input pin (for PIR sensor)
int val = 0;                    // variable for reading the pin status

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);      // declare LED as output
  pinMode(pirPin, INPUT);     // declare sensor as input 

}

void loop(){

val = digitalRead(pirPin);  // read input value

if (val == HIGH) {            // check if the input is HIGH

digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);  // turn LED ON
    delay(5000);

} else {

digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW); // turn LED OFF

delay(300);    
  }

}

Moderator edit: code tags

a little help? anyone?

You'll need to get rid of the delays and use millis instead. Take a look at the blink without delay example to see millis in use. For your code, whenever the PIR is high, store millis in a variable and turn the LED on. Independently, check that variable against millis to see whether five seconds have passed and if so, turn the LED off.