Newbie ambilight question

Hi!

I'm very new to Arduino and a lot of electronics.
I saw some tutorials for creating your own ambilight.
But I have a question regarding the assembly.

What do I need to send separate signals to the multiple leds?
Like I have 10 leds in a row but they all need to be a different color.

I want to use the following RGB leds : http://www.ebay.com/itm/100-pcs-5mm-Fast-RGB-Flash-Rainbow-MultiColor-LED-/330714359321?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4d001ca619#ht_1174wt_1156Forward
And I have a Arduino Leonardo.

Thanks!

Most likely, RGB Flash leds have a pregrogrammed chip inside, and can't be control fromexternal device. Probably, this isn't what you are looking for. Search leds w/o "flash"

So first of all I will be needing the following leds : http://www.ebay.com/itm/100-Pcs-5mm-Red-Green-blue-RGB-LED-Light-Rainbow-free-R-/110396023112?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19b41da148

No, it's the same pre-programmed, only slowly -);. LED shouldn't vary color on it's own.

But which ones do I need to order, Anode or Cathode and what's the difference?

It's up to you, if this is your first project, have a look in "LED Lights and Displays" Arduino Playground - InterfacingWithHardware, a lot depends on what hardware do you have to drive this leds.
Factors to be considered:

1. Cost
  2. Availability
    3 Shipment time
    4 Coding complexity

Also, how big is your project, ambilight 100 leds, 10 or 1.

Danton:
But which ones do I need to order, Anode or Cathode and what's the difference?

Common Anode is 1 pin in and 3 pins out. Ideal for driving with a LED driver chip like WS2801, MY9221, MAX16807 & STP16DP05.
Common Cathode is 3 pins in and one pin out.

I personally would get common anode LED's and a couple of WS2803 chips as I have used the device and it works well (and is cheap). Each WS2803 can drive 6x RGB LED's

@Riva

Thanks for your answer!
What would you recommend, 5mm or 10mm leds?
And how did you set it up / what are the schematics?