New to arduino need advice on Flexible 8x32 NeoPixel RGB LED Matrix

Hi, first of all I'm very new to arduino and programing one, in fact never done programing of any sort.

First of all I want to know will this do what I want it to do.

Here is the scenario, this is for show purpose only.

Ok I want this flexible led matrix to go in place of my rear lights in a show car (1 for each side), what I want to do is use the arduino to control each flexible led matrix.
I want the matrix to be all red for normal lights, and increase to maximum brightness when braking. Then I want a scroll effect of yellow/amber for turning signal left and right, then white for reverse. Also I want it to show up in letters on each matrix 'bye' when you put your foot to the floor (accelerate) hard.

I also want to be able to change the style of the lights with a push of a button (maybe 8 diffrent styles if possible.

I was wondering what I'd need in terms of what arduino would be able to cope with this program and what additional parts I'd need to do this.

Please remember I'm a total noob at this and need guidance if possible to what I want to do.

Thanks

Hi,

That is a lot of leds! Uno, or something similar like Nano 3, should be ok for this, although RAM memory will be tight. However, you will need a suitable external power supply. Those matrices will draw a lot of current, especially when full brightness white. Get a couple of 5V 15A stabilised or switch-mode supplies, or DC-DC converters and you can power the Arduino also through its 5V pin rather than the barrel connector.

Paul