Go Down

Topic: [Solved] Installing libraries - think I've tried everything but it wont work. (Read 206 times) previous topic - next topic

Sculptuino

Hi,

I hope I'm not adding a new thread that isn't needed but I've looked around and followed all the tips and tricks i could find.

I'm trying to install the Button library by Michael Adams by using "Manage libraries...". I've also tried doing it with "Add .ZIP libraries" and by downloading and unzipping the library manually and then extracting the files to the sketchbook folder.

I made sure the name of the library folder, the .h file and the .cpp file all were the same (Button). I made sure that the main library folder "Button" was put in the "Libraries" folder in my sketchbook folder.

The text won't turn orange when i write button after i added the library in my sketch. The library shows in the list of libraries installed so now i feel like throwing my computer out the window... but I won't.

I'm new to this and help is much appreciated, cheers!

slipstick

Turning orange is not important. What does it do when you verify a sketch with it included and used?

Steve

Sculptuino

Hi Steve,

You were right, i just finished the sketch and uploaded it and it works. Should have done that before posting. Thought the text going orange indicated that the library was in use or something, like when i print Serial.print etc.. But now i know! :) Thank you for your quick reply!

Cheers!

pert

Library authors have the option of creating a keywords.txt file, which has a list of the keywords they want colored after their library is installed. Some library authors don't bother to do it. Other library authors do it but don't do it correctly so it doesn't work. So don't worry about coloration. What really matters is whether the code compiles.

In this case the problem was that there is a keywords.txt file but it wasn't correctly formatted. I have submitted a proposal to fix this:
https://github.com/madleech/Button/pull/2

Sculptuino