[SOLVED] Need help with Max7219 and LedControl library

I'm trying to hook up my Arduino Uno to a Max7219 led controller and 1 Seven segment LED Display. At this point I'm just trying to connect to only 1 display to keep things simple. I've used the following wiring schematics as my guide:

Arduino Playground - MAX72XXHardware and
http://tronixstuff.wordpress.com/2010/07/09/review-maxim-max7219-led-display-driver-ic/

I'm new to electronics. I've downloaded the LedControl library and I've only coded the bare minimum programming to see if I can test my wiring. I didn't even code the Loop() event, only the Setup(). I've included some pictures to show you how it's wired up. I've also included the program at the bottom.

I was successful in getting the display to show the number 1 and the number 7. I can't get any other numbers to display. What happens is when the program starts, the number I'm trying to display flashes for a split second then vanishes. I've included a video of this below. I'm not even sure what the arguments to setDigit are - I was guessing and was lucky so far. I can't find any documentation for the functions in the LedControl library - I can only find articles where people tend to get overly complicated.

1 - I was hoping someone could offer assistance with the setDigit function. I'm trying to display a number on a single LED display as shown below. Nothing fancy. Am I using the function incorrectly below?
2- Why do you think only 1 and 7 works but other numbers don't. I thought it had to do with the fact that numbers 1 and 7 use the least amount of led segments (2 and 3 segments). I thought maybe my USB port was not supplying enough juice. So I hooked up a power supply to the Arduino and it still behaved the same way.