Go Down

Topic: can;t get newly installed IDE to upload (Read 495 times) previous topic - next topic

blr3621

I am very new to all this. I have just downloaded the IDE for windows. I loaded the blink sketch and tried to upload it - it failed. Have selected the correct board but the port label is greyed out. the error msg talked about and error while attempting to upload. tried to install the .inf file but got a message about one of the installers being unable to run at that stage. Have tried to read the installation problems thread (some of which is over my head).  The UNO board is plugged in and the ON led and the Led connected to pin 13 is also on. Can anyone help = please!!

sterretje

What does the device manager say? If you bought a clone, you might need the CH340 drivers; do a search here.
If you understand an example, use it.
If you don't understand an example, don't use it.

Electronics engineer by trade, software engineer by profession. Trying to get back into electronics after 15 years absence.

blr3621

Thanks for your reply. The Device Manager shows "other devices - unknown device". when I try to install the driver it shows "one of the installers for this device cannot perform the installation at this time" but it also shows that a driver for this device has been found. I downloaded a driver for the CH340 and it installs but cannot link to the device (board)? Still completely lost. Does it make any difference that I'm running Windows 10

ballscrewbob

Depending on the OS installation type you might have driver enforcement turned on.
Worth looking that up on google and turning off to re-do a driver installation.

Also the CH 340 drivers should be from HERE

You may find some bad CH340 drivers from other sources.
It may not be the answer you were looking for but its the one I am giving based on either experience, educated guess, google or the fact that you gave nothing to go with in the first place so I used my wonky crystal ball.

blr3621