Differences between AVR & ARM

I'm an electronics newbie.

I'm totally confused. Using Google I've tried to find out the differences between AVR architecture & ARM architecture. Google hasn't been much help. I know that I can get 32-bit AVR or 32-bit ARM.

I want to get an Arduino but there are so many different ones that it's hard for me to choose which one. I went to the Atmel website & looked around & it didn't help answer my questions. Does Arduino use only AVR? Does Arduino have any 32-bit Atmel micro-controllers? Is ARM used in the likes of Raspberry Pi & Beaglebone?

Please explain in layman's terms the differences between AVR & ARM.

I'm not sure what use comparing CPU architecture is going to be. The line is very blurred between all these devices.
i.e the Arduino Due as an ARM board.

You'd be better off letting us know roughly what you want to achieve and people can probably direct you to the appropriate microcontroller.

However in terms of the Raspberry PI, the key difference is the RPI doesn't have a lot of Input / Output capabilities. It just has a few GPIO lines which are 3.3V and can't drive much current. To interface the RPI to realworld hardware, people often connect an Arduino based daughter board.

BeageBone Black is a bit different, it has the speed and ram of the RPI, but does have the hardware interfaces. But is far more expensive (i.e 4 or 5 times the price).

If physical size is an issue to you, there are key differences between Arduino class boards and the RPI and BBB.
i.e you can get an Arduino Micro board which measures 32mm x 18mm with virtually full Arduino functionality, where as the RPI and BBB are around 10 times larger.

But, please post your requirements.

As a self confessed newbie these issues will not matter to you at this stage. It will be a long time before the differences matter.

The important question is what do you want to do with the board.
Real time - choose an arduino
Linux - choose a raspbery or arduino Yun