Receive data from linear potentiometer?

Hi. I'm a novice at this, trying stuff for the first time. I want to connect a set of (maybe 6?) 'softpot' linear potentiometers to an Arduino Duemilanove, via a breadboard, & then use the outputs to drive midi patches in Max.

Any ideas out there how to connect it up & get it going? I'm using MaxMSP 5 on Mac 10.4.

Could you explain "softpot" a little more ?

it's easy to connect 6 ordinary potentiometers to Arduino, they shold just be hooked up to the analog inputs as voltage dividers. One side to ground center to analog pin, other side to +5V.

Then use AnalogRead(pin number here) to read the pot, it will return a value between 0 (0V) and 1023 (5V)

Hi, thanks for the reply.

A softpot is a thin metallic strip encased in flexible clear plastic. The ones I have are about 25cm by 2 cm. They have 3 terminals at one end: centre and right connected to the top of the strip (right terminal is marked with an arrow pointing out), and left running down the side and connected to the bottom end of the strip.

The idea is, when you run your finger along the strip, it will send a variable resistance message, thus functioning like a mixer fader.

They're a bit expensive, which is why I'm being a bit cautious. Which pins of the Arduino to connect to? And should I add in a resistor somewhere? Any help much appreciated. :slight_smile:

Centre to an analogue input pin, and the ends to the +5V and ground.
There is no need for anything else to get you going.

However, you might like to consider what happens (what do you want to happen?) when you are not pressing on the pot. There will be no connection to the analogue input pin and so you will get readings that fluctuate all over the place when nothing is being pressed.

Hi

I bought 10 circular sofpots and have already burnt up two of them by connecting like is described here - centre to analog input pin, left (with triangle above) connects to 5v and right goes to ground.