Go Down

Topic: jittery servos (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

chopperaddict

Hi everyone
I am designing some model railway electronics using several Uno and Megas. I am no expert by any means.

I have written my code and it all works as expected, and I have tried connecting the servos to both PWM and Analogue output pins without success. I have preset the inputs and  outputs using Pinmode()

When my code comes to move the servo (which in its turn switches a point) the servo does move, but then sits there "jittering" quite badly.  I have tried the same servos running under the example servo sketch and they run smoothly.

I have tried using .write() and .writeMicroseconds(), both give the same result.

Here is a sample of one branch of the switching operation, all the other code simply records what is happening and sets a bunch of variables, including a few that I HAVE ADDED to the Servo.h file to help me control the system. They are :
 // My own internal class variables
  // to make processing much easier.
   byte currMode = 0;            // added IGT 6/2/2018
   byte branchAngle = 0;             // added IGT 6/2/2018
   byte mainAngle = 0;             // added IGT 6/2/2018
   byte pointNo = 0;            // added IGT 6/2/2018
   byte isActive;            // added IGT 6/2/2018

The servos themselves are held in an array, hence servos

Here is the code sample :
Code: [Select]

switch (buttonSelected)
         {
            case 1:
               sprintf(gbuff, "Adjust Mode is now %s!", pointAdjust ? "ON" : "OFF");
               Serial.println(gbuff);
               resetActiveFlag();   // set all other points to non active first
               pointMode = MAIN;
               servos[1].writeMicroseconds(MAINANGLE);
               servos[1].isActive = true;
               servos[1].currMode = MAIN;
               sprintf(gbuff, "point 1 switched to MAIN");
               Serial.println(gbuff);