Complete newbie Displaying voltage from variable source of current

Hi all,

I've just (very) recently started with Arduino, and need to figure out how to use Arduino for a research project. What I'm aiming to do right now is to display on a color LCD shield the voltage generated by a piezoelectric disc (apply pressure, get a flow of electricity). I have a Duemilanove, and a sparkfun color LCD shield, along with a bunch of assorted Arduino shields/pieces. The amount of electricity generated varies, but can reach 50+ volts. I know I'll need something to reduce the voltage, but what I'm primarily concerned about is how to get the discs hooked up to the board, and how to get the LCD shield to display that voltage. Sorry if I'm asking for a lot, but I'm really lost. I can provide more information about what I want to do/what equipment I have currently if it helps.

-Asteradragon

Divide the problem into bits that you can tackle. I assume you can compile and run your sketches on the Arduino by now. There are plenty of example sketches showing how to display messages on an LCD shield. Pick an example, wire it up as instructed for the example and see if it works. Then play around with the displayed text until you know how to get it to display what you want.

Separately, you need to figure out how to read your Piezo sensor. The Arduino analog inputs aren't terrifically high resistance so you may find your piezo can't supply enough current to get a good reading. I guess the best thing to do is to try it and see whether you can get any readings. You should be able to find plenty of examples showing how to read an analog sensor input, they're used all over the place.