Advice for tracking down old datasheets?

I'm pretty new to this whole electronics thing, so I don't have a lot of parts lying around. Consequently, I decided to start tearing apart some old electronics (CD players, etc.) to see what parts I could liberate from them. So far I've managed to pull out four motors, a photointerrupter (apparently), a transformer, and some other stuff. I'm having trouble, though, tracking down datasheets for a lot of them (it should be noted that the CD player in question is from 1993).

So my question is this: those of you who make a habit of scavenging for parts, do you have any general advice on tracking down old datasheets? Sites with good archives, catalogs to look at, general search strategies?

I hate to break it to you, but when it comes to most consumer electronics post-1990 or thereabouts, you won't find much in the way of information about the parts based on the data on the chips or elsewhere.

For ICs and such - your best bet is to compare the chip with a comparable chip from the same manufacturer, and see if the part numbers have a similar pattern. Some of these might be so out of date, that even if you go to the manufacturer's web site (or call them directly), it is obsolete and no data will be available. If the pattern seems right for the chip/style/type, then start typing in and googling the numbers. You may get lucky and find some kind of old datasheet somewhere out on the net, or floating in one of the chip datasheet archives out there (alldatasheet.com is a popular one).

Otherwise, the numbers on those parts (and beware - this is also an issue with surplus/overstock parts, like you might find) may be what are called "house numbers" - that is, they are part numbers that are internal for the manufacturer of the device they are incorporated; you won't be able to get any information about those, generally.