Arduino to ARM. Where to start?

I am a part of my school's engineering club and am responsible for workshops that teach members new skills. Over the past few months I have taught about forty students how to use Arduino, from digitalWrite down to bitmasking registers to reverse the order of SPI transfer.

I have received a complaint recently that Arduino is nice but bland for third-years and above. I was told to look for an ARM board to learn how to use and eventually teach to members. The problem is that I have no experience at all with it, no classes at my school teach it, and there do not seem to be any ARM boards with nearly the percentage marketshare that the ATmega328 has. Right now I am leaning toward LPC or ST-branded ARMs that are found on the Maple (always out of stock), Discovery (seems underpowered), LPCExpresso, and mbed (missing JTAG).

The main goal is to become familiar with a device that is used in the real world so that the workshops are useful but keep costs down. I also want to buy peripherals but am not sure which are appropriate for the much faster ARM. And just as you wouldn't consider a regular Timex and Pebble the same, I would like to be able to distinguish the ARM and Arduino workshops somehow, even though I know that ARM workshops will have to start by blinking an LED.

I have read past posts on this forum about ARM but they are over two years old. I am also eagerly awaiting the Due, but as far as I know it is past its due date so I am looking for alternatives.

Can't you get them excited into pushing the boundaries a bit? For example:

The humble Arduino outputting to a VGA monitor (and further down, in colour). I was thinking that doing a Pong game, or Tetris should be possible.

Or combine that with some FFT and music input and make a nice "music visualizer".

orangeLearner:
Bland for a third year? Third year in college or high school.

Are you a fellow student or are you the Instructor in charge of the group?