Elevator with up/down buttons, 7-segment LED, PING))) sensor

Here is an “elevator” project I’ve been working on. A motor moves the car up and down based on button presses (up or down), and an ultrasonic sensor tells when the car has reached the destination “floor”. A 7-segment LED displays the floor number, and a piezo buzzer goes off when the car reaches its destination.

This is the first electronics project I’ve done myself. I had soldered kits together before, but had never started one from the beginning. I’m a software developer by trade, so learning to code wasn’t a barrier. I learned a great deal through what worked, and much more from what didn’t.

I bought an Arduino Uno, and started with the project kit from Adafruit (named in the parts list), and built the practice circuits. As I went, I thought about what I wanted the elevator to do (run a motor, respond to button presses, etc.) and I returned often to the schematics of the samples.

When something didn’t work like the example (hooking a bigger motor up didn’t work like the little toy motor), I went looking for help and found things like h-bridges. Things that would bore many of you, but that I had never heard of.

Of course, I learned a ton from people online - hooking up an h-bridge, driving the LED with a shift register, troubleshooting the PING))) sensor’s output, solving timing problems, etc. Here are a few of the sites that helped me get from 0 to 60 on certain topics, but they are by no means the only ones.

http://wiki.bildr.org/index.php/7-Segment_Red_LED
http://ee.hawaii.edu/~sasaki/EE361/Fall06/Lab/7disp.html

http://allaboutee.com/2011/07/04/arduino-proximity-sensor-circuit-tutorial-and-code/

I’m including a parts list, Fritzing file, the source code, a few pictures, and a few videos of the finished prototype. The “car” in the videos is just a piece of cardboard packing material, and the rails the car rides on are drawer runners. Legos make up part of the structure.